New Zealand bags its first ICC Trophy in form of World Test Championship

Photo: ICC | AP Photo

New Zealand has won the very first edition of the ICC World Test Championship defeating India by 8 wickets in the Final.

The match in the lords was won by the Kiwis, which was pushed to the reserved sixth day due to the rain interruption.

Despite a solid opening partnership of 62 runs, the Indian team struggled to make a strong stand in the first innings which limited them to 217. Kyle Jamieson picked a fifer conceding just 31 runs in 22 overs.

Neil Wagner and Trent Boult picked two each for the kiwis while Southee picked one.

Indian skipper Virat Kohli failed to make a big impact in the game despite getting a formidable start of 44 runs before being bowled by his RCB teammate Jamieson.

New Zealand in reply looked formidable as Openers Tom Latham and Devon Conway put a 70-run stand for the first wicket before Kohli caught Latham in Aswin’s delivery.

Conway hit an important half-century which followed Williamson’s brilliant innings which fell just one short of the half-century. Both of them were dismissed by Ishant Sharma. Mohammad Shami and Ishant Sharma rattled the Indian middle order which led Kiwis to a collapse.

New Zealand managed to get some kind of a lead following a 21(16) cameo from Jamieson and 30(46) from Southee which took their score to 249/

Bumrah went wicketless while Ishant and Shami picked 3 and 4 respectively. 

India were totally outplayed by Kiwi pacers in the second innings. Pant’s 41 was highest for the Men in Blue and Kohli failed to score once again.

Southee, Boult, and Jamieson picked 4, 3, and 2 each while Wagner managed to get one.

NewZealand was trailing by 138 coming into the fourth innings, The target of 139 was easily chased by Kane Williamson and co. with just two wickets down.

Ross Taylor scored the winning runs for New Zealand. Kiwi skipper Williamson scored 52 while Ross Taylor hit 47. Both the Kiwi openers were dismissed by Aswin.

The victory is very important for the kiwis not only because this is the inaugural series of the WTC but also because the New Zealand side having been long criticized for not winning the ICC trophy despite being so close to winning it on the occasion.

Last of it being the World Cup 2019 when Williamson and Co. lost the tournament on the boundary count after a tie in the super over.


Publish : 2021-06-25 08:30:00

Give Your Comments